Baby Greens

Yippee! I’ve begun thinning some of my early plantings, notably the turnips and beets. Their tiny roots, which will some day swell into root crops, were trimmed, leaving me with wonderful baby greens. One day, I sautéed them in olive oil with a little garlic. Today, I threw them into a hamburger-based soup. Without question, gardening enriches life! Even the discards are precious.

It’s been raining here today, so I’ve spent my day studying up on the varieties of tomatoes I’ve planted. Yes, that’s correct, I have three different types of tomatoes in my small gardening space. I wish I could say that I went forewarned into the world to select the perfect type of tomato for each of my needs, but I’d be lying. Instead, I ran around grabbing one here and one there and one more from another location all based on hunches from the brief descriptions noted on their little tags.

From what I’ve read about them in my online searches, I think I’m pleased with my choices. But, of course, as they say, the proof is in the pudding, so I won’t know the final outcome until 80-plus days from today. That’s how long it should take for them to start coming in.

The three varieties i bought are Celebrity, which has been catagorized as a good dependable crop. That’s good for a fledgling gardener like me. I also bought one Patio tomato. I thought that should succeed. Plus, I couldn’t keep from buying a variety called sugar snack. How could anyone resist that name? It turns out it may be the largest of the tomato plants that I’ve bought. But one woman reported that her friend had grown it successfully in a pot, so why not me?

I hope I’m still here and still blogging when these goodies come in sometime this summer, and that I can share with you the results of my efforts.

And if anyone has anything wonderful to report about any of these varieties, please, leave a note! Of course, you’re always welcome to just give me a big howdy, too.

Happy gardening.

Soup with Baby Greens

This entry was posted in gardening, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby Greens

  1. I love your new look (though I am partial to the old one as it was mine as well).
    Have a great day.

  2. tempusflits says:

    Thank you. I liked the old one, too. But I seem to be one who can never stop tinkering. Ugh. Hope all is well with you.

  3. plantsondeck says:

    Best of luck to you and your tomatoes! I, like you, am often suckered into buying tomatoes on name alone. One of my favorites: Mr. Stripey.

Leave a Reply

