So many wonderful recipes and only 365 nights a year to cook them

I’m revved. My chard is coming up. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Chard probably should have been planted earlier, but I’m new to veggie gardening, and I got mixed up. Anyway, it’s coming up now, and as I’ve said, I’m revved.

I love greens. Probably my favorite way to cook them is to saute them in olive oil and garlic. Yum. But as I was browsing The Smitten Kitchen, I found an even better option for chard. Oh grow, baby, grow.

http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/04/creamed-chard-and-spring-onions/

This entry was posted in container gardening, food, gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So many wonderful recipes and only 365 nights a year to cook them

  1. I’ve just become acquainted with chard this past year. What took me so long?
    My introduction was actually an appetizer that goes something like this:
    Saute chard with some garlic in a bit of olive oil
    Brush slices of bread with olive oil
    Top with sauteed chard, sliced tomato, and Fontina cheese
    Bake at 375 until cheese is bubbly (or grill)

    I’ll look to try your creamed chard. Thanks for sharing.

    • tempusflits says:

      Oooo, yes. Thank you. I will make a meal of that appetizer! Also with the recipe from the Smitten Kitchen, further down the page she adds Parmesan cheese and serves the whole over pasta. Ahhhh. Oh golly. So much good food!

  2. plantsondeck says:

    I’m right there with you! This looks like an incredibly noble use for chard.

    –plantsondeck

  3. Ali says:

    Chard is wonderful, and lasts all season if you pick the outer leaves regularly. That recipe sounds great — cream and cheese, what’s not to love 🙂 Chard is also terrific with eggs and, you guessed it, cheese, especially cheddar. Try a chard quiche someday! Drooling in anticipation I am. I am growing my favorite Bright Lights again this year, and trying another variety, Argentata, which is supposed to be even yummier.

    Thanks for visiting Henbogle! Container gardening has *many* advantages, so take advantage of them! I bet you could grow carrots — I sure cannot. I will be back to visit again

    • tempusflits says:

      Oh, wow — a chard quiche! Thank you. I’m drooling myself, now! I’ll make one for sure. I can’t wait for my chard to get large enough to harvest the leaves. As I’ve said, it’s seriously behind where it should be because of my error. I’m growing Ruby Red, but I’ll watch for the other varieties next year. I love greens.

      I feel lucky. If I hadn’t learned that nearly all veggies can be grown in pots, I’d still be garden vegetable deprived. That’s a bad place to be.

      Thanks for visiting my blog. And I’m looking forward to returning to yours.

Leave a Reply

