Harvest Monday

While my Monday harvest of baby beets and lettuce and one lone radish pictured below may look a little sparse, I am gardening in containers for just one person. Plus, I’m pulling beets as babies because I suspect I might be coming to the end of beet season. It’s also raining so much and so often that I’m afraid the beets will get water logged.

(I’ve lost four sweet green pepper plants to what I term jungle rot. I suspect they were planted too close to taller veggies and did not get the air circulation they needed to dry out.)

But I am a novice gardener, and if the world had to depend on me for produce, from what I’m seeing so far, we’d all starve.

My total harvest for this week includes:
One pint of black raspberries. (Surprising because these usually come in a week or two later than this.)
A handful of fennel leaves. (Herb not vegetable.)
Ditto chive leaves. (Chive and fennel used to flavor an apple, chicken, and pecan salad,)
Ditto parsley leaves.
A handful of basil and oregano stalks, used to flavor a Lidia’s Italy (my favorite TV chef) bean dish.
Several Swiss chard leaves, used in the above bean dish.

I bought two more sweet pepper plants this week. I hope it dries out enough soon to plant them. I’d also like to put in a bean plant if it’s not too late. (I have some peas which I need to yank out, and I thought I’d plant the beans in the pea container. The peas didn’t do well. I only got four tiny pea pods.)

And while my harvests have been small, (I’m just learning) the harvested goodies have been tasty!

This post is part of a Harvest Monday update at Daphne’s Dandelions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Harvest Monday

  1. Well personally, I’m very impressed. We’ve just got ourselves half of an allotment and we’re total novices so I’ll be keeping an eye out for tips…

  2. villager says:

    I lost a lot of pepper plants this year due to cold wet soil. I had to replant, and now they’re taking off. I hope your replacements take off too!

    Most gardeners I know started off small. I’ve killed more plants than I can remember. Sounds to me like you’ve got a lot of stuff growing!

    • tempusflits says:

      Thanks for your wisdom! I’m hanging in there. I already know things I want to do differently with the fall plantings. In the meantime I hope we both get lots of peppers! And I’ve got enough growing for just one person. LOL

  3. Robin says:

    Your lettuce looks yummy! Just keep on gardening and believe me, things will grow!

    • tempusflits says:

      Thank you, and I don’t think I could stop “gardening” now if I wanted to — which I don’t — want to, that is. I haven’t harvested much, but what I have brought in has been special.

  4. Christina says:

    Black raspberries? So jealous!

  5. Allison says:

    yum! raspberries!!

  6. Dan says:

    If you get beans in soon there should be lots of time still. They start producing pretty fast really. If it has been to wet you can sow them in peat pots in a warm spot indoors and then plant them out pot and all.

  7. Daphne says:

    I’m not a great container gardener myself. I’m much better as an in ground gardener. I find containers are more finicky – though easier on the back since you don’t have to dig. And the learning process never really ends. Every year I learn something new and I’ve been gardening for over 20 years.

  8. tempusflits says:

    Yes, I’m learning. Containers they said would save the gardener from a world of gardening woes, but I’m learning that they come with a few woes of their own. Before container gardening though, I could have no crops at all because my house sits on a soil made up of heavy clay. So . . . a little of this, a little of that, take your choice.

    The one thing I think I’ve learned is that it’s not quite so simple as drop in some seeds and some plantings and get a harvest. It makes me really respect my dad who year after year kept a garden which provided not only fresh produce in summer but enough to preserve for the winter as well.

    Still, I’m thrilled to have what I have! It tastes so good and I feel a world of accomplishment when I harvest — no matter the size of the crop.

    I admire you for 20 years of gardening. I wish I’d have hopped to it before!

  9. Not a bad harvest at all! I feel your pain re waterlogged plants. My first planting this year completely rotted because of all the rain we’ve been having. Oh well, I just replant and keep going…

  10. tempusflits says:

    Yup. You’ve got that right!

Leave a Reply

