Harvest Monday, July 12, 2010

 

My harvest was small this week, plus, I’ve had a photo failure, so the visual rendition is not available. (I don’t explain this stuff, I just use it as best I can.) Anyway, although the harvest was small my excitement was high. That’s because my first slicing tomato came in.  I pulled it from the garden early because of my fear of my neighboring groundhog. He’s not getting any tomatoes from me – not if I can help it.

I also harvested more than a handful of cherry tomatoes, seven jalapeno peppers and some bronze fennel and tarragon. Most of the cherry tomatoes were pulled and quickly eaten. The jalapeno peppers were great fun and very much enjoyed.

For maintenance this week, one of my sweet peppers went into a larger container. It’s looking a little bedraggled just now, but hope it recovers and thrives. I also tried washing my bean plants’ leaves with soapy water. My dad washed his cabbage with soapy water to control pests. I’m probably way off base with this, but hey, it didn’t cost me much to try. Something came off the leaves. There were tiny, black specks floating in the water. Wish me luck. I like green beans!  I also planted another container of beans this week and started a small pot of black seeded Simpson lettuce. I miss my spring greens!

So midway through summer I’m not displeased with my little gardening effort. I’d love to have good dirt in which I could grow at least a dozen tomato plants. But my yard gets lots of shade. I suspect, even if I had the strength, little would come of my efforts. The spot where I’ve placed my containers offers the best shot at gardening that I have. The area already hosts perennial flowers and raspberries. Containers get around this obstacle as they can be fitted in where opportunity arises.

On the other hand, container gardening is not inexpensive. There’s the cost for pots and the potting mix on top of seeds and fertilizers and what have you. And I’ll never have huge harvests. (My space available for containers in full sun is very limited.) So I doubt it would be in my best interest to tally my harvest versus expenses, although next year, with fewer pots and bags of potting mix needed, my expenses should come down a bit.

Plus, I believe, and always have, that part of the fun of do-it-yourself activities, beyond the intense sense of personal satisfaction, is the savings made on the venture. But then I come from that generation which values thrift.

Mixing all of that together and toting it all up anyway, I still wouldn’t change a thing I’ve done. The intense, fresh flavors of the veggies I harvested this spring were worth all the effort and outlay. So happy gardening, folks. We have at least half of the season left!

This post is part of Harvest Monday hosted at Daphne’s Dandelions.

 

This entry was posted in container gardening, gardening, herbs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Harvest Monday, July 12, 2010

  1. Daphne says:

    I would be spending a lot too if I had to container garden all the time. And I’d do it anyway. I love to garden too much.

    • tempusflits says:

      I know the feeling. Growing veggies is extra special. Thanks again for all of your good advice in your series on gardening and hosting this fun spot called Harvest Monday.

  2. Maybe with your shade, you can grow lettuce and greens longer than most people?? I think most of the reason I garden is because I love to get dirty, and feel the earth. If I only had containers, I would still use them to grow something. I love the process, and the feeling I get when I can raise something from very little. Keep it up!
    ~~Lori

  3. thyme2garden says:

    Congrats on your first slicing tomato! I’m still very (im)patiently waiting for my very first tomato to ripen. I really wish I had planted some cherry tomatoes – anything to get quicker harvests for this first time gardener! And sorry to hear about your photo failure, but hopefully you’ll get it fixed for next week.

    • tempusflits says:

      Thank you. I hope your slicing tomato comes on soon! And yes, I’d encourage a cherry tomato plant or two. They’re kind of fun and rather productive! I’ll keep my fingers crossed on the camera.

  4. Oh, those garden critters. You’re pulling groundhog spotting duty, and I get squirrel spoting duty. Anything to protect our babies.

  5. bjasonfrye says:

    Soap and water is a good strategy as long as it isn’t too thick. It worked for us for some things, but I think we have a blight or the weather is runious this year. Best of luck with your garden, I’ll be checking in to see how things are going.

Leave a Reply

