Harvest Monday, Aug. 2, 2010

A portion of my harvest.
A portion of my harvest

Like many of you here, I’m getting some nice things coming in now that it’s August. But since most of my tomato plants are determinate, I’m nearly at the end of my run. I have three ripening fruit on one plant and four on the other. But more on that later. For now, suffice it to say, I’m thrilled with the tomatoes and green beans and chard. I sauted the chard with onions and added it into a ham and cheese breakfast omlette. I was delighted. And my herbs continue to produce beyond all reason. Still to come in are several green peppers and another, later, planting of beans. 

But back to my tomatoes. See that little green thing in the next photo? It wasn’t there a few, short days ago.

Witness the mysterious revival of my celebrity tomato plant.

 

I understood and accepted that determinate tomatoes stop producing at some point. Well, mine did. I’ve harvested nearly all of the lovely tomatoes it put out for me. But now, within the little more than the last week, that darn plant has grown, and blossomed, and produced new, tiny tomatoes. I thought I’d rip it out sometime before August 1, which is the last date given for fall pea planting here in Illinois. But then the plant came on with fresh production. I doubt it’s likely the tomatoes will ripen before the first frost, but since I’ve counted about twenty of the little, round, green things, I refuse to give up on them . 

I did get the peas in — in a different pot, naturally. I even wove my own trellis. 

 

So here I am with high hopes for a fall harvest. 

This entry was posted in container gardening, determinate tomato plants, gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Harvest Monday, Aug. 2, 2010

  1. meemsnyc says:

    We have a lot of tomatoes on the vine, but they are slow to turn color. Not sure what’s going on.

  2. Angela Moll says:

    I guess the difference between determinate and indeterminate is somewhat fuzzy. Good for you, now you’ll get more tomatoes.

  3. thyme2garden says:

    Hi Martha – that’s so exciting that your determinate tomatoes seem to be producing a bumper crop of new tomatoes for you! I only have one variety of indeterminate tomatoes this year – Early Girl – so my tomato knowledge is pretty limited, but I do know how exciting it is to discover new baby tomatoes and watch them grow! Swiss chard in breakfast omelette sounds really delicious!

    • tempusflits says:

      Thank you, Thyme2. I almost chose Early Girl for my tomato, but celebrity was said to grow well in containers. Next year, I may try both. But I’m thrilled to see new tomatoes. I didn’t know determinates put on a second growth. But I’m so new to this stuff. Still, it’s fun and I’m learning.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Daphne says:

    Determinates are like that. I like indertermnates better, but I have a few dets that I’ve planted this year. Some don’t seem to be giving up yet.

    • tempusflits says:

      Ah, it’s the nature of the beast, huh? Thank you. I’m a litteral person, and when that thing came back to life, I nearly swallowed my teeth. I pictured myself with the first ever mutant determinate tomato plant. But I’m learning, I hope, thanks to wonderful, well-informed gardeners like you and your friends.

  5. This was my first year ever growing a determinate, and it’s an Early Girl. This one would have made a great container plant. It’s got lots of branches, but the whole plant isn’t even two feet around. So far I’ve gotten seven or eight medium sized tomatoes and there are more to go.

    How do you dry and store your tomatoes? I figure the more people I ask, the more information I’ll have.

    • tempusflits says:

      I thinly slice them, drizzle them with olive oil, then season with garlic powder and basil and roast them at 300 degrees for one hour in my toaster oven, turning the tomatoes after the first half-hour. One gal protested that I was cooking as opposed to drying them, but they come out fairly dry and have a really sweet, almost nutty flavor. Then I bag them up in small batches and freeze them. I say I’m preserving them for winter use, but they rarely make it that long before I gobble them up. In previous years I’ve bought tomatoes at the Farmer’s Market for this job, but this year, I’m doing my own. I love it!

Leave a Reply

