Harvest Monday, Aug. 9, 2010

  

The last of the Celebrity tomatoes

 

This is the end of the Celebrity’s tomatoes, barring the success of the plant’s new production. I have no idea of what to think of the new tomatoes forming on its vine. I did try looking the variety up this week on the Web. On one site they described the Celebrity as a semi-determinate tomato. Maybe that description explains what I’m seeing on my plant. I mean it sat there for weeks and weeks with withered blossoms, which have now started forming new tomatoes. I find that completely beyond reason. 

Second picking

But my full-size, indeterminate Sugar Snack, overgrown, sprawling, twining over itself and with its elbows and knees resting on and into several nearby pots, is still producing its delightful cherry tomatoes. One site I visited this week said cherry tomato plants grow too large to be raised successfully in containers. Well, I wished I could introduce that author to my Sugar Snack plant. It’s still going strong and shows no signs of slowing down. I just keep it well watered and fertilized, and it thrives.

 

This week also brought the end of my first planting of bush beans. But I have a second crop coming on now in another container. I pulled the first bean plants out of their tub this week and planted Swiss chard seeds there. I hope to harvest some chard before we get killing weather this fall. But who knows? 

Snipped chives waiting their turn on the freezer tray

 

And the push to keep what we’ve grown struck even me. So I harvested a few of my chives, snipped them, and froze them on trays before bagging them up to tuck away in the freezer for winter use. I also oven-dried most of my tomatoes and froze them. I don’t know why, except that I love that flavor on my pasta and pizza, so I indulged myself with my attempt to extend my home-grown bounty on into winter. (Plus, with determinate tomatoes, you almost must do something about preserving them, because they all ripen nearly at once.) 

Summing up, it’s been a good year for me in my container gardening effort. And this week, I started plotting out next year’s garden. I think I’ve enjoyed what I’m doing. And the score? Me, lots; groundhog, zero. 

Harvest Monday is hosted at Daphne’s Dandelions. Be sure to visit her excellent site to view more harvests.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Harvest Monday, Aug. 9, 2010

  1. michelle says:

    Groundhog zero, music to my ears. I love your harvest basket, it shows off your lovely tomatoes so well.

    • tempusflits says:

      Thank you! I get baskets with so many gifts which I’m sent through the mail. It’s nice to have a use for one. The others, I fear, I’ve often tossed out. And yes, I’m very pleased to have beaten that pushy old groundhog to my goodies. 🙂

  2. ferabeth says:

    Looks delicious!

  3. Robin says:

    I have one tomato plant in a container. The fruit took forever to set and are taking forever to get ripe! I don’t think that anything can stop a cherry tomato plant!

  4. mamaraby says:

    I always love pictures of vegetables from the garden! Yours look so pretty!

  5. thyme2garden says:

    Wow, you grew all those in containers? I never thought about freezing chives on a tray like that, but that’s a really good idea. Thanks for the tip!

  6. vrtlaricaana says:

    I would be just happy to have new growth on tomatoes, even if it says can’t happen. I never trust writings on a seed packets too much. Hopefully you will have tomatoes all August, and maybe some in September?
    I freeze my tomatoes without drying them, but never have dried chives. I will try that this year. I hope it keeps some of the taste after unfreezing.

    • tempusflits says:

      I am happy. I’m out there every morning checking on their progress. I never knew about determinate vs indeterminate tomatoes before this year. I guess, after reading about determinates, I thought they produced a crop and then died. This came as a complete shock to me. I was ready to pull the plant out of its tub and move on to peas.

      I am pleased with the growth I see on the plant now and a little grateful that I put this tomato plant in early this spring. Maybe that means it will have a better shot at giving me a fall harvest. I’m revved. I like tomatoes.

  7. Daphne says:

    I agree. I’ve grown cherry tomatoes in pots too. They work great. The issue is keeping the foliage up and keeping the wind from knocking the pot over. Cherries do tend to be boisterous.

    • tempusflits says:

      Boisterous, I love it. That’s my big guy all right. You also have to understand, the only tomatoes I’ve tried growing before, I attempted to grow in my heavy clay soil. I never had a tomato that even came to the top of its (ratty/puny/run-of-the-mill) cage before. This thing, if I straightened it out would be more than seven feet tall, I’m just sure of it. So he/she was quite a shock to me. LOL. Even my Celetrity surpassed its similar, unimpressive cage. So I have been an extremely happy gardener puttering around my containers this year. Also I was lucky with the book, The Bountiful Container, authors Rose Marie Nichols McGree and Maggie Stuckey. They were very clear about the size of the pot needed for tomatoes. Those are not your garden-variety containers. You should see the one I’ve found for next year’s tomato plant. The size of the pot is important.

  8. Ali says:

    Hah, boisterous. That Daphne has a way with words. My Matt’s Wild and Sungold cherry tomatoes have beaten up two pepper plants and wrestled them to the ground, and are now heading for the bush beans.

    I read somewhere you are in Illinois… I went to college in Peoria, and my bro lives in Chicago. I almost stayed, but missed the ocean too much.

    Oh, and one more thing. I posted a recipe for sundried tomato and arugula pesto, which is divine on pizza, here: http://yankeepantry.wordpress.com/2009/05/27/sundried-tomato-pesto/

    It is super yummy, so you might want to give it a try with those dried tomatoes!
    Ali

  9. tempusflits says:

    Yes! I will! You bet!

    (I thought I sent a reply, but it didn’t show up here. I’m not sure what’s what. Anyway, yup I’m an Illinoisan. Lived in Chicago for nearly 13 years, then it was back to rural Illinois for me. I don’t blame you for returning to the ocean. It is special.

  10. plantsondeck says:

    Freezing chives! What a great idea. I’m all over it!

Leave a Reply

