Harvest Monday, Sept. 20, ’10

My take for this week

Hey, hey, hey! I have radishes. Not many, I grant you, but I didn’t plant many, either. And it’s all a plus for me, since, as I previously noted here, they all came up leggy. And what I’ve harvested are not perfect, but sauted or roasted with some meat or another, along with the greens, I’m sure they’ll taste grand.

Also pictured are the last hurrah from my determinate tomato plant. They’re what I call the “second generation” of toms from that thing, which has since been pulled. I used the ripe tomatoes in two excellent sauces and made a home-made tomato soup from sine others. Everyting tasted quite grand. The remaining green tomatoes are too small for fried green tomatoes, but I’m an unconventional cook. I like them diced and added to stir fry nearly as well as batter dipped and fried up solo. So I’m enjoying these, too.

My next task is to repot my herbs to bring inside for winter. I wintered over a rosemary plant last year and am anxious to try to save other herb types. They’ll die for sure left outside in pots in this zone, so I’ve nothing to lose.

This post is part of Harvest Monday hosted by Daphne’s Dandelions. Be sure to visit there and enjoy all the harvests from some pretty amazing folks!

This entry was posted in container gardening, cucumbers, determinate tomato plants, edibles, gardening, herbs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Harvest Monday, Sept. 20, ’10

  1. My herbs have been brought inside now as well. Temps are dipping into the 40s and even one night into the 30s. That’s awful low for herbs.

    -Brenda

  2. debiclegg says:

    My harvest each week may not be big in the site of most but each and every harvest is BIG TO ME!! There is such delight when we can enjoy food from our own garden. It sounds like you had or will have several delicious dishes from your garden!!

    • tempusflits says:

      Yes. I know, it’s tiny. But I’m growing in tubs and am growing food for only one person. Plus this is my first year of container gardening. I have a lot to learn about this craft.

  3. Daphne Gould says:

    I like radishes too. I keep hoping mine will ripen before the squirrels get them all.

  4. thyme2garden says:

    Congrats on your first radishes! I just love the first anythings from the garden. I didn’t really know what to do with my radishes last week, aside from eating them raw, so I just chopped mine up (I only had two) and mixed them in to my salsa. They just blended right in! I will have to try your saute/roast idea with my next harvest. Will even the perennial herbs die in your zone during wintertime? I’m in zone 5b, and our parsley, oregano and thyme overwintered just fine outside. They were in the ground, though, so that might have given them more protection than if they were in containers.

    • tempusflits says:

      It’s the thought of the roots’ expose to cold air in pots that has me bringing the herbs indoors. Plus, I love the thought of harvesting fresh herbs all winter. As for cooked radishes, I was stunned when I saw Martha Stewart saute them on one of her shows. Then, I tried them, and I’ve never looked back. They taste a bit like turnips, I think, when they’re cooked.

  5. Stevie says:

    Is that a lemon cuke I see? – cool. I had no idea there were so many types of cukes until I visited a farmers market and tried about 8 kinds of them!

Leave a Reply

