Harvest Monday, 9/26/10

Each week this month I’ve thought this would be the end of my gardening story. But my little garden has kept going. Please note in the photo my first-ever home-grown peas. The cucumber vines have become so long they’ve grabbed onto the garlic chive flower stalks for support. Surely, they’ve played themselves out. But I’ve enjoyed them and this past week I made another batch of refrigerator pickles from them. Yum. I like and recoomend lemon cucumbers.

Unphotographed was my baby leaf lettuce brought in for lunch yesterday. I also transpanted a couple starts of it earlier this week into a tub which I will cover with plastic to try and extend the growing season slightly. I’m picturing a sort of mini, would-be cold frame. It will sit in full sun, just as soon as the oak tree drops its leaves.

Harvest Mondays are hosted by Daphne’s Dandelions. Visit her site to see what gardens from multiple locations are still producing.

This entry was posted in Harvest Monday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Harvest Monday, 9/26/10

  1. Yum! Lemon cukes! My plant didn’t make it this year. I *heart* lemon cucumbers!

    • tempusflits says:

      I’m sorry they didn’t work out for you this year as I think they’re the best cukes I’ve ever tasted. Made great pickles, too. Here’s hoping we both have good luck with them next year.

  2. Daphne Gould says:

    I keep thinking my summer veggies will be over soon too, but no they just go on and on and on. Usually they would all have been pulled a couple of weeks ago.

  3. Angela Moll says:

    Congratualtions on your first homegrown peas! I just planted peas the other day and I am waiting for the little plants to emerge.

    • tempusflits says:

      I had trouble with the emerging part. Next year, I’m soaking them in a wet paper towel before planting. I think I planted seven seeds and only one plant grew. I had my baby peas last night, raw, in a salad. They were super. If you just planted yours, you must be from a warmer part of the country than good ‘ol Illinois. No matter where you live, may your peas grow like weeds!

  4. Andi says:

    Congrats on your first peas! I grew my first this year too – I loved going out to the garden to snack on them straight off the plant. Next year I think I will do a second planting as their season is much too short.

  5. I’m very impressed with your container gardening. Some people make it look so easy…not me though. Constant battle between what I would love to do and what actually works for me. Your end harvest looks lovely.

    • tempusflits says:

      I don’t mean to make it look easy. It isn’t easy. There’s so much more that I want to do, but I will say for what I know about vegetable gardening, the first year went well for me. There were, though, a great many failures. But I chucked those aside and kept going.

Leave a Reply

