Cabbage, Breakfast Sausage, and Tomato Juice

I only post this because of all the recipes I found, none of them quite matched this one. It is an old and favorite dish of mine. It was the one my Mother made for me when I would eat nothing she placed in front of me.

It worked. I wolfed it down. But, of course, it ultimately didn’t agree with me. (I had hepatitis at the time, the mild kind, although it hadn’t been diagnosed yet.)

It is my father’s recipe. He said he got it from his mother, a lovely, lively woman of Pennsylvania Dutch ancestry. For that reason, I’d always thought the recipe was German.

I’ve never had a formal recipe for this dish. I only make if from watching it having been assembled in front of me. Over the years, I’ve cooked it as a casserole in the oven or microwave. I’ve also simmered it in a large pot on top of the stove, and tossed it into a slow cooker to stew all day. All I can say is that all systems have worked equally well for me.

The ingredients are simple. Shred a head of cabbage. Chop an onion. Open a packet of breakfast sausage. Assemble those ingredients in layers in your cooking instrument. Poor tomato juice over all until it tops the dish and cook.

The only thing I’ve ever added to the above ingredients is a healthy dose of freshly ground black pepper.

As you can see, it’s not stuffed cabbage, a dish I also love. But the dish is wonderful in its simplicity. Dad did say his mother used to hollow out an entire head of cabbage, stuff it with the above ingredients, and cook it all day.

I’ve never done that, but feel free to try it. Let me know how it goes. Anyway, as you can imagine with fall knocking on my door, I have a pot of this currently cooking in the slow cooker.

I am so happy.

Love to all, and happy eating no matter what you’re making.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

